Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other How to install highlight.js on wordpress site?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    MrEidsen
    Participant

I am running a wordpress site with a thesis 2 theme, I installed the js file into a file on my server called “javascript” and I installed the .css file into a file called “styles” I then linked to both in the head scripts section of my thesis theme. But unfortunately nothing happens. I am completely sure that I am doing something wrong.
    The <script> and <link> are both in the head section on every page.

The website does not offer very detailed instructions, and no one on the thesis theme forum has answered with a working solution either. The instructions mention to hook the highlighting to the page load event. I probably did not do this because I don’t know what that means. I am not a complete noob at this, but I definitely don’t know what I am doing here.

If someone could give me a bit more detailed instructions on how to go about setting this up, it would be very helpful and I would appreciate it. Whether it should be through the thesis theme or if I have to go into the custom_functions.php file and add something there… I am just a little lost. Thanks for any help from here :)

Alen
    Participant

In your theme folder create two folders js and css place all the files from highlightjs into appropriate folders. Then place this in your functions file:

function my_cool_scripts_and_styles()
    {
        /**
         *      OUTPUTS JAVASCRIPT: highlightjs
         *      wp_enqueue_script( $handle, $src, $dependency, $version, $in_footer );
         *      If you only need this to show up on certain pages wrap it in a wordpress conditional tag
         *      so for example:
         *      if ( is_page('some-page') ) { wp_enqueue_script... } <-- ended for brevity
         */