Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other How to deal with a possibly unfair client?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    OhJude

I’m a developer and I was hired by a a web designer to build a nice ajaxed website. It turned out to be pretty good-looking and smooth so I asked to put my name next to his in the credits.

Well, here it started going downhill (or it just accelerated)

The credits are a single link which he wants to point straight to his website but I proposed to point it to a split page, with designer+developer links.

NO, the client didn’t even want the designer’s in the first place.

But the link is already there, what difference does it make to the client where the link points to?

Maybe I wasn’t clear. I want the link to point to my website, not a page with both of ours name. You can put your name in the code at most.

Now, given that he already broke two unspoken rules, one being too many quick fixes after it was done and ready for two months and the other being the price—he thought the price was after taxes… unlike every other person I worked with.

My question is, how do I go about this? Should I just give up and let the link go or should I try to keep my signature visible?

He doesn’t seem very honest overall, which means this is the last time I’ll work with him anyway.

alexcoady
    Participant

From a legal point of view, assuming you’ve both signed a contract that gives all the copyrights to the client, you haven’t really got a leg to stand on. It does, however, feel unreasonable that there is a link to the designer and not to the developer.