Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other How to "cover" the actual website title with another title?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    arghman
    Participant

Hello everyone.

I’m a complete noob at anything CSS, and not very experienced at web design in general. I have a Japanese site that I’m running, but we have a problem. No one here in Japan searches in English, so the page title should be in Japanese. But when you actually arrive at the page, the Japanese page title looks heinous. So I would like the “real” page title to remain in Japanese, but would like to try to have an English title display in that spot when you actually are looking at the website.

I’m using SquareSpace6, and here’s the website: http://www.LivingEnglishSapporo.com

Any help is appreciated! I’m getting deperate here! Thanks in advance!

Paulie_D

By “Title” do you mean <title>リビングイングリッシュ札幌</title> orthe h1 with the class of “.site-title`.

arghman
    Participant

Sorry! By “title” I mean
    リビングイングリッシュ札幌
    !

In English it’s “Living English Sapporo”, which is what I would like to “cover” the title with. But I still want the real “title” to be in Japanese so people can find it in search engines, etc. Does that make sense?

Paulie_D

Hmmm…that’s not a CSS attribute / property so we’re in the wrong section.

I’ll move this to ‘Other Discussions” but my thinking is that it’s not an easy process….even if it’s possible.

You might consider adding a <meta> tag with a description.

Here’s an example from Google at: https://support.google.com/webmasters/answer/35624?hl=en#1

<meta name="Description" content="Author: A.N. Author, 
    Illustrator: P. Picture, Category: Books, Price: $17.99, 
    Length: 784 pages">

Gary Pickles
    Participant

You could use jQuery

<script type="text/javascript">
    $(document).ready(function() {

$(this).attr("title", "sometitle");

});