Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End How to add ellipsis?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Doom_87
    Participant

Hello everyone.
    I hope I’m putting this in the correct section!

I’m trying to build a site with wordpress and I’m a newbie.
    I’m using a plugin for excerpts on my posts, it’s called “Easy Custom Auto Excerpt”. However, the plugin does not offer the option to have ellipsis attached in the last word of the excerpt and it seems a bit weird to cut of a sentence like that.

I wanted to ask if I could somehow edit the plugin’s php to add ellipsis attached to the last word of the excerpt.

I pasted it’s code below:
    http://pastebin.com/SBQqb1i6

I think it’s the correct php because it had many in it.

I tried contacting the plugin’s authors but they only made things worse since I gave them my login details and kinda messed up some things.

Anyway, I hope you can help me out and sorry if it’s a silly question :)

Paulie_D

I gave them my login details and kinda messed up some things.

Seriously!? Never, EVER, do this….

Multiline ellipsis is quite hard to achieve in CSS.

Whether it’s something PHP can do is beyond me.

Senff
    Participant

I always use my own function to show an excerpt of something, based on the number of words.

The function (put this in your function.php or custom plugin file):

function custom_excerpt($limit,$moreText = '') {
      $excerpt = explode(' ', get_the_excerpt(), $limit);
      if (count($excerpt)>=$limit) {
        array_pop($excerpt);
        if ($moreText) {
          $excerpt = implode(" ",$excerpt).'... <a href="'.get_the_permalink().'" class="read-more">'.$moreText.'</a>';
        } else {
          $excerpt = implode(" ",$excerpt).'...';
        }
      } else {
        $excerpt = implode(" ",$excerpt);
      }
      $excerpt = preg_replace('`[[^]]*]`','',$excerpt);