Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS how many CSS files?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    LinCSS25
    Participant

Gosh this is going to be such a newby question. I am REALLY catching on to CSS and HTML, so far I have studied alot but what I have no experience doing is making multiple pages.
    My question is.. do you make a new CSS document for each page of your website? or do you put ALL the coding for every page in one document. Also, is it best to embed the CSS file to the HTML file or external? So far I have been doing external.

I tried studying some sites and when I look at their CSS for each page within the site it looks like there is some different code or order in each. So Im wondering do you make your home page, take that CSS file, rename it then use it and tweak it for say.. your about me page, and save it with a new name linked to that page.

Hope Im not confusing, any tips on this subject would be great.. or links to info on the subject.

med

1 is usually enough for most sites. Those that are larger may have multiple css files to help de-clutter everything. You can usually keep all of your css code in that one file and just pull it from within html. Again to keep everything organised it’s best to have an external css file. Though if your css consists of only a few lines then it’s easier to put it in the header.

Yeah you can tweak it. For example if you want particular styling for text on one page and different on another then you would tweak that section of the css and upload with a different file name and link to that instead. Otherwise that one css file would influence two different pages when you don’t want it to.

vee

You can mark the different styles for each page by a small comment: /*…..*/

If you got different styles on the pages (eg. different backgrounds) you can give id’s on the body tag:

<body id="startpage">…</body>