Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS How long did it take you to learn all the computer languages you know today?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

I got into coding about 9 months ago and don’t feel like i have learned as many languages as i should have. In the 9 months that i’ve been teaching myself computer languages, I only learned HTML5, CSS3, and alittle Jquery. I have a friend who self-taught 5 languages in he first year. I’m asking this because i want to see how i stack up with everyone else.

TheDoc

I’ve been doing this as a hobby for about ten years and professionally for the last five or so. It takes a lot of time and effort to become truly comfortable with different languages.

> I have a friend who self-taught 5 languages in he first year.

Lots of people can bullshit their way through a bunch of languages, doesn’t mean they are any good at it.

Alen
    Participant

> I’m asking this because i want to see how i stack up with everyone else.

Don’t compare your level of skill vs. the masses. You will become to critical of your own abilities and this will prevent you from learning and trying new things. Just keep learning. Stick to one language at a time until you get solid working base, then it becomes easier to branch out to other languages. It’s all programming, it’s all relatively the same.

**Everything is hard before it’s easy**. It just takes time, so take it in at your own pace. If you try to do too much you’ll burn out.

> self-taught 5 languages in [his] first year

Don’t believe people who say things like this. People in general like to exaggerate. Some more than others.

> How long did it take you to learn all the computer languages you know today?