Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Horizontal Layout Problem Driving Me Nuts!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    FlyByNight

Hi Everyone,
    I am pretty new to designing websites the CSS way, I did a few sites around 1999/2000 but they were all table based so I am still getting my head around the layout aspects of CSS.

One problem that I just can’t crack (I have spent 3hrs trying and finally had to concede) is with laying out 3 items horizontally. I have a ‘search’ text field with a submit button, then I need a text link aligned left and then I need a text link aligned right. Please see the attached image file.

I have tried putting each item in a div, floated, not-floated, text-align left/right etc. and the closest I cam was where I actually got all three items lined up across the page but their centre’s were not aligned so they sort of stepped down towards the bottom-right of the page.

The all of the elements are contained within a wrapper which is set to be 85% of the full page width. Sorry but there is no live version of this yet to demonstrate.

I really would appreciate some help with this before I lose what little hair I have left :)
    Thanks, Paul.

Here’s my code:

<div id="bodyWrap" style="width: 85%; display: inline;">

<div id="searchForm" style="width: 55%">

<cfform name="textSearchBox" method="post" action="listVillas.cfm" preserveData="yes">

<fieldset class="searchFieldSet">
    <legend id="searchLegend">Quick Text Search</legend>

<label for="locationName" class="sLabel" style="visibility: hidden;">Enter Destination</label>

<cfinput type="text" name="locationName">
    <cfinput name="submit" type="image" src="images/searchButton.png" style="margin: 0.4em 0 0 0; padding: 0;">

</fieldset>

</cfform>

</div>

<div style="width: 20%; display: block; float: left; clear: none;">