Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End Homepage/Index for WordPress

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    taxicss
    Participant

Hi, I’m currently converting my site to wordpress and its my first time ever to play with wordpress. I’ve been reading some tutorials lately and I am confused on where should i put my code for my homepage. I’ve seen some tuts setting their homepage in the front-page.php file and some on the index.php file. So where should I code my homepage exactly?

TheDoc

I wrote a long post about this a while back! http://code.graygilmore.com/blog/wordpress-why-you-gotta-be-so-confusing

I’m pretty sure all of those things are still true today. The gist of it: it’s always better to let index.php be your fallback (catch-all) template. I like to think of it has a page rather than any custom template. It’s better to use home.php or front-page.php for a home page.

taxicss
    Participant

@TheDoc, thanks for the post. So now I should use front-page.php since my index.html/homepage is static? It only consist of a slider and a few infos. And if I am to use home.php, where do i set it to act as my homepage? Isn’t it its the index.html that’s being loaded first in a website?

TheDoc

If you want to use a static page, definitely use front-page.php.

Checkout Settings > Reading to select these settings.

taxicss
    Participant

Hi @TheDoc sorry but I can’t seem to find the front-page.php file? Where do I edit the content of it? Here’s what I’ve done..I created a page(Homepage) and set it as my Front Page under Settings > Reading > Static Page.

TheDoc

You need to create front-page.php in your theme’s folder.

taxicss
    Participant