Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums JavaScript Help with Sliding Form Jquery Technique

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    jmizi

Javascript newbie here,
    I’m creating a form based on chris’s advanced form. The effect i want to capture is the slide up and slide down of an area of a form. But i’m not using the jquery transform plugin.

Code:
    $(document).ready(function(){

$(“#reservations-form”).validate();

$(“.yay, .oops”).hide();
    $(“.yay, .oops”).fadeIn(2000);

$(“#departureArea”).hide();

$(‘.jqTransformCheckbox’).click(function(){
    if ($(‘#departure:checked’).val() == ‘on’) {
    $(“#departureArea”).slideDown();
    } else {
    $(“#departureArea”).slideUp();
    }
    });

$(“#arrivalArea”).hide();

$(‘.jqTransformCheckbox’).click(function(){
    if ($(‘#arrival:checked’).val() == ‘on’) {
    $(“#arrivalArea”).slideDown();
    } else {
    $(“#arrivalArea”).slideUp();
    }
    });
    });

The #arrivalArea and #departureArea hide as expected. But they do not slide down on click. I figure it must be do to the fact that its targeting .jqTransformCheckbox. But again i’m not using the transfrom plugin. So i guess my question is what do i need to rename the ‘.jqTransformCheckbox’ so that it targets the desired checkboxes? ….. i’ve tried using the input name, id, and class…. Any help would be mucho appreciated…. Thanks!

cybershot
    Participant

what is with this line

if ($(‘#departure:checked’).val() == ‘on’)

I understand what you are trying to do, what I don’t get is the value ‘on’. Usually something like this is either a ‘1’ for on or ‘true’ Is on defined in your script? or is this a function I have never seen before?

jmizi