Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Help with CSS: How to align lower header to center

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    shadowpage

Hello, I am rather new to CSS and have been working on customizing the store design of a bigcommerce template I am using.

http://www.animekawaiicastle.com

Currently I’m having trouble getting my lower header to be aligned to the center of the page (i.e my horizontal category and pages menus). I know the correct area of my css to edit, but finding the correct code to use has proved a sad challenge for novice self. I assumed that to accomplish what I’m trying to do all I would need to add would be something like:
    “text-align: center;”
    but this has not worked, neither have any other ‘float’ values that I’ve tried.

If anyone out there is willing to spare information I’d greatly appreciate it! Thanks ^-^

Paulie_D

Do I understand that you want the menus to be centered on the page?

At the moment, you would have to either give them a set width and then set `margin: xx auto` or do some juggling with padding on either side.

That probably isn’t going to help with your top-line menu as those two lines are actually one BIG list.

If you have the ability to change the template, I would look into converting the menu to inline-block as it’s much easier to center the list items.

joshnh.com/2012/02/07/why-you-should-use-inline-block-when-positioning-elements/

Senff
    Participant

If you remove float:left and add display:inline-block to #SideCategoryList li, #SideCategoryList .sf-menu li (line 367) then it might already do what you want. (@Paulie, not sure why that would require the ability to change the template?)

Paulie_D

I don’t know much (read anything) about templates. I assumed this might be a theme thingy. :-)

shadowpage