Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Help. Firefox on Mac is unbearably slow (for me)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    blw0010

I see that Chris C. uses Firefox on Mac just fine. I have a Macbook Pro, 2GHz Intel Core Duo, 2GB Memory, and Firefox 3. For both the current version, and Firefox 2, I have always had very sluggish performance and when there’s any type of flash or video on a page, it becomes so slow it’s unusable.

I’ve searched forums and help resources all over the internet, but could never find a solution. I have found other people looking for the same answer as me, but never a reason or solution.

Even with no add-ons and a fresh install, it’s terribly slow. I’m a web developer, so it’s really tuff for me since I don’t get to use Firebug without Firefox. I have resorted to installing Parallels and running Firefox on windows for my development work, but this sucks up a lot of my computer’s power and would be ever so grateful if anyone has a solution for my Firefox Mac troubles.

Thanks.

blw0010

Thanks for the info, Box. I forgot to mention the OS X version I’m running is 10.4.11. But about your comments, it seems you’ve had even more trouble than me with browsers. For me, Firefox is the only one that has given me trouble on my Mac. Every other browser works just fine, no matter how long I’ve been using it.

I will try Firefox 3.1 beta, but the question still remains. Why is it some folks who use a mac don’t have any problems with Firefox, including Chris Coyier, but with others, Firefox crawls like a 3 legged turtle?

ikthius
    "blw0010" wrote: