Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Having trouble with the CSS Flexboxes

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

I’m quite new to CSS; I have designed websites before in Photoshop but I’m just getting started with the coding aspect.

Anyway, besides the point, I was trying to create my personal website and wanted to achieve a result similar to this:

I’m having a lot of trouble with achieving the result which I wanted for the grid using the Flexboxes.

Another problem is the border-right doesn’t extend until the end of the viewport height. It was fine until I put some paragraphs in there.

Would appreciate any help on this greatly.

Here is the codepen link: http://codepen.io/anon/pen/WReOoW

Beverleyh
    Participant

I’m having a lot of trouble with achieving the result which I wanted for the grid using the Flexboxes.

If you Google “flexbox 2×2 grid” you will find various examples.

Another problem is the border-right doesn’t extend until the end of the viewport height. It was fine until I put some paragraphs in there.

Sorry, I don’t understand the problem. The border looks fine here (on iOS) . Can you clarify?

Atelierbram
    Participant

@abdul_h65 Modules with panels like these are an excellent fit for flexbox. But you want an extra wrapper around those image-text pairs, to make that wrapper the flex-item. I still find this visual guide to flexbox playground helpfull, but maybe you are also using something like this.

The vertical border (from top to bottom in the middle) could better be done with a small vertical repeating background-image. In my fork of your demo I used an embedded SVG image.

Also at some point this layout is going to break for smaller screens, so for this reason I put those layout styles within a min-width media-query.

http://codepen.io/atelierbram/pen/apoEyj

Please let me know if you have any further questions about this.