Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums JavaScript Hand code a blog?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Bokehman
    Participant

Hi all. Been lurking for a few months. First post begins …

A bit of background on me … I’ve been doing print design for 25 years. I’ve dabbled in web design, but it was mostly just the ‘design’ part (handing over Photoshop and Illustrator files to a developer). In the past few months I’ve been doing my homework on HTML and CSS. I hand code my files, which I’ve actually been enjoying. I’m happy with how much progress I’ve made but am aware I also have a long way to go.

I’m in the process of redeveloping my business site, which I did many years ago in LiveMotion (don’t laugh). I’d like to incorporate a blog on the main page. It’s something I’ll update perhaps 3-4 times a month.

So my question is: What’s the best way to work in a simple blog? As I won’t be updating it every day I thought I’d just manage it “manually” (ie. update the current blog post and update the links, move older articles into an archive, etc …) Then I thought perhaps a CMS solution might make things easier (after the initial set-up).

Where I’m getting confused is how to plug-in the blog section. I considered an iframe but from what I’ve read that may not be the best solution. If I use an altered WordPress template would I have to do my whole site in WP?

Would welcome some input on how I can approach this.

Thanks in advance.

ccc630

It sounds like WP is definitely the way to go, at least for the blog — no sense having to manually update, archive, etc., when WP is set up for exactly those tasks. If you don’t want the whole site to be WP, my understanding is that you can install WP just for a specific sub-domain, ie blog.myawesomesite.com. You’d have a ‘blog’ link on your home page which would just link to that.