Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS [Solved] Fixing vertical space between Navigation menu and context box?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    stw2011
    Participant

Hi,

I am having trouble fixing the space between the menu and the content box. I want the menu and the content box to be very close to one another, very little vertical space between them.

http://evanography.com/wp/

I have tried making the #content { position: relative; margin-top: -125px; }

Making the margin-top to -125px will move the context box up but then it moves the text in the orange ribbon over to the right which I need to be centered

I am totally new to this so I don’t know the proper way to do this but I hope someone can help me, thank you in advance.

noahgelman
    Participant

style.css line 116

main_header has padding bottom. Change it.

stw2011
    Participant

If I change #main_header { padding-bottom: 25px; }
    then the title of the page moves over to the left, but I still want it to be center…how can I achieve that?

thank you very much

noahgelman
    Participant

A couple things wrong with the stylings here. This often happens when a bad choice is made in styling and it grows and grows by adding other styles to try and fix the underlying issue.

logo – This is what is causing the problem. It’s floated, but the height is ruining your layout and kicking around elements. Try this:

logo { position:absolute; top: 0; left:0; }

This will stop it from mucking around the rest of your design but still allow you to position it where you need. Adjust the top/left values as needed to position it.

content – Remove position relative and margin top. Don’t need them. This was to compensate for the #logo pushing everything down.