Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Fixed + Centered Header

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    gradyetc

Hi all,

I have a random layout issue — I’m still relatively new to web design and I’ve made way too much use of absolutely position layouts in the past and I’m trying to get away from it now. So here’s the situation:

I have a header that is fixed to the top. It has a height of 200px and a width of 100%. On the left side I have an image that I want to stay stuck to the left. On the right side is a horizontal nav UL. I want the image to stay put, and I want the nav to be centered in the remaining space on the right, adjusting as the browser is resized. This seems simple to me, but for some reason I can’t get it to work as I want.

HTML

Code:
    MCN

Below is a screen shot — you can see that the nav is not centered:

[attachment=0]header.jpg[/attachment]

Any help would be much appreciated!

Mike

virtual
    Participant

Posting the css and a link to the file would elicit more responses…. :shock:

gradyetc

Was hoping the description would be enough, all of my attempts failed miserably. Here’s one:

http://www.mancallednoon.com/sandbox

And here is the CSS I used (HTML is in the post above):

Code:
    * { margin: 0; padding: 0; }

html,body { background-image: url(“../images/back-canyons.jpg”); background-attachment: fixed;
    background-repeat: no-repeat; background-color: black; }

/* Layout */

div#mast { position: fixed; top: 0px; left: 0px; width: 100%; height: 200px;
    background-image: url(“../images/back-gradient.png”); background-attachment: fixed;
    background-repeat: repeat-x; }

div#mast-left { float: left; width: 301px; height: 278px; }
    div#mast-right { position: absolute; top: 0px; padding-left: 301px; width: 100%; }

#mast-nav { margin: 0 auto; width: 706px; height: 51px; list-style-type: none; }