Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS First website – hover problem

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    mdix

Hi guys,

Great community here! The CSS screencasts and various forum posts have basically enabled me to fudge together my first website in CSS. It’s basically a site for a friend who’s an artist. My issue at the moment is that I can’t get a hover state to work using sprites. I’ve looked at screencasts that deal with this and tried various other googles but I can’s seem to work out what’s wrong. I have no knowledge of CSS, however, so that’s no surprise…

I also realise that the code is probably horrible and really bodged. Feel free to criticise / suggest improvements.

http://lindsaywood.x10.bz/

ChrisRadford

Your CSS will work fine, you just need to alter the definitions slightly.

For a full run through of css classes see this article: https://css-tricks.com/multiple-class-id-selectors/

Since you have applied the class names to the <li> elements not the <a> elements you need to defined the two change of background rules as follows:

Code:
    ul#nav li.paint a:hover, ul#nav li.ceramics a:hover {
    background-position: center bottom;
    }

however as your background isn’t applied to your <a> but to your <li> you’ll need to apply the background to your <a> (some versions of IE don’t support hover on non-<a> elements):

Code:
    ul#nav li.paint a {
    width: 111px;
    background: url(“images_main/paintlink.gif”);
    background-position: center top;
    }

ul#nav li.ceramics a {
    width: 252px;
    background: url(“images_main/ceramicslink.gif”);
    background-position: center top;
    }

and remove the background rule from the li’s.

Hope that helps & all makes sense!

mdix

That’s working great now. Makes perfect sense. Thanks a lot for the help!

mdix