Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other First ever client, what should i ask?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    JohnMotylJr
    Participant

I need some expertise here. Im a college student majoring in computer programming and i’ve been dabbling in website design for a while. My friend and I went around to local businesses and found a few that have horrible, i mean HORRIBLE websites. We had offered to redo the website for free this way we can add something to our resume and get some real world experience.

Question 1: Ive talked with a few people that have said that what we are doing is wrong and stupid. Was told we are taking away from the experts in the field. Is there anything ethically wrong with redoing peoples websites for free?

Question 2: What are some KEY things we should ask.

Question 3: I dont have a portfolio site or a resume site, should i make one before hand or bite the bullet and not make one so i dont rush it?

If theres any references or some tips you guys/gals can offer i would love it. The site is static and will only be a couple pages but this is the first real thing ive done in the field so im excited but kind of nervous.

amoss
    Participant

Free. For a local businesses is never free. They owe you one!
    1. If you can improve what they have now over a “professional” you just crossed that line. Get paid next time.
    2. Ask about the design or payment? Need more info.
    3. Make a site but don’t rush it. You just got hired for free. Don’t make that error again.
    Congrats.

Visit CSS Tricks Often!

JohnMotylJr
    Participant

@amoss,

deff noted, i guess my reasoning behind this was right now in my career path experience is payment. But i totally understand what you are saying.

To clarify about the question in regards to design, should i be asking stuff like: