Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Feedback on my Site?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    alice
    Participant

I have used Chris’s tutorials to learn some CSS and jquery (from complete beginner). I am hoping I might get some feedback from ya’ll experts on what mistakes I’m still making re: usability and design.

I’m a DIYer so I’d like to learn myself rather than get a designer. Visual taste isn’t a strong suit but I am enjoying the sense of ownership over my site.

Link is here http://bit.ly/Sjhdv

Mottie

Hello Alice!

I am not a professional web designer, so I may be totally off on the following observations:

I like the welcome bar that drops down on page load, but when it disappears it leaves the page header a bit too plain. Maybe add some color up there and make the sidebar background a tiny bit darker might add some contrast.

The social icons across the top (facebook, google+ and twitter) don’t line up.

When visiting other blog posts, I see the same social icons show up under the “Read Another Blog Post” header. Once is enough, unless you are targeting a specific post.

The blog menu has links that are spaced too far apart and need to be either all underlined or not underlined at all, the last one doesn’t have an underline. The topics tab could also have the number of topics on the same line with less spacing so as not to push the side bar content down so far. Maybe try putting that content into a floating menu could present that information a cleaner fashion.

Since that is your home page, I would only put essential information on it. The FAQ would be better served on another page.

The sign up button (blue gradient) and other interactivity buttons (text, email and options) would look better if they matched. Maybe isolate the sign up form and use icons plus text for the other buttons.