Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Feedback needed

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Hey all,

I’ve had an idea tumbling around in my head for awhile and I just thought I’d shoot it out here and see what feedback you all had.

I’ve been a graphic designer for six years. Design is my friend but HTML/CSS and all this coding is not. However, there is a relatively untapped market in my area for website design. Problem is, I can create these user-friendly and eye appealing designs but their just a .psd that sits on my hard drive and never makes it to it’s intended destination of the internet. I’ve had a lot of interest in my design work both print and web design but I’ve lost the interest of those potential clients with web design as I do not know how to get the sites up.

So, my thoughts are this: Why not use a service such as the one Chris touched on a few days ago, WP Coder or PSD2HTML as a sort of third-party provider. Just like any other business would hire out for, say their accounting or cleaning, etc. Now, with third-party providers I know your at the mercy of them and if they fail on their part then I essentially fail as well. I also realize that the cost may be a pit higher then those who can do both design and code sites but I’m thinking locally and staying small. Ultimately, I would love to get more educated on coding but I feel it will never be my forte and it’s best left to people who have a passion and enjoy it.

This way I could begin to build a portfolio of work with actual clients and make (although minimal to start) a wage to further my education of learning HTML/CSS better. I need to get my feet wet some how and begin establishing myself in web design.