Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Does anyone else feel like they’re on a treadmill?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    nixnerd
    Participant

I would say I’m an intermediate web developer. I would not call myself a beginner by any means but I’m reminded daily that I’m nowhere near an expert. I have a mixed bag of skills. I know mostly front-end stuff but I also know some back-end. I started out as a designer so my design abilities are definitely my strong suit but I’m not a bad coder either. I’m proficient in HTML and CSS. I’m OK at PHP. I don’t know a ton of JavaScript but can generally feel my way around j Query.

Anyway, I feel like every time I think I’ve achieved a level of competency, I am QUICKLY knocked off my pillar. I feel like there’s always someone better, always a new technique I don’t know, always some stupid mistake I’ve been making forever… always something.

Does anyone else feel like this? Is web-dev mastery even possible? Why do I feel like I still suck after 5 years?

Alen
    Participant

We’re all on the treadmill. You just have to realize that there are only so many hours in a day and you are only one person. Often times you’ll look for inspiration and you’ll look at these cool sites and you’ll feel like: this is the kind of work I need to produce. But the reality is, there is a TEAM of people behind that product. So it’s understandable that you may feel overwhelmed when trying to get to that level. And it’s just an uphill battle all the time. My suggestion would be to slow down and take in the information at your pace and learn by doing. Start on a project, when faced with a problem, figure out a solution and document it (save it for reference or reuse) this is the way I learned. I never really sat down and just pilled trough one particular programming language or subject.