Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Do you think it is possible to get good front end developer job being very young?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    IlyaDaderko

Hello everyone,

Little bit about my self, I’m 18 years old, currently studying software engineering in London.
    I started learning front end development since I was 14, I’ve done some freelance work before, but never worked for actual company.

At the moment I’m refreshing my knowledge to be up to date with latest technologies. Once that is done I’m planning to make completely new portfolio website, with some demo work (demo meaning that I’ll make websites for companies that I made up).

As the title says, will I be able to secure good (or at least any) front end developer job in a company? Will employers be strict about previous work experience and my young age?
    Will clean and neat portfolio website be enough to impress employer? (I’ll do my best to make it responsive, retina ready, optimised and everything I else I’ll come up with..)

I’m also planning to refresh content on my social websites like twitter, fb, g+ to make myself appear more professional, furthermore I’m aiming to update my LinkedIn profile and create several projects for Github to show employer that I’m a serious worker, despite my young age.

So what do you think? do I stand a chance?

Senff
    Participant

As someone who has been in charge of hiring front end developers, I can say that in my case, there were three things that mattered for me to hire someone:

1: talent. You have to be GOOD at your job.
    2: passion. You have to LIKE this kind of work.
    3: not be a jerk.

Age never mattered to me. I’ve hired 20 year olds, I’ve hired 45 year olds. Of course, I wouldn’t put a young guy in a senior position.