Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS CSS Override on PAge not Working

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

I am relatively new to CSS manipulation. I have a page
    in which in need to have the h1 and h2 text different colors;

FROM CSS FILE;
    h1, h3, h4, h5, h6, #entries h3.post-title, #entries h3.post-title a, #entries h3.post-title a:active, .special-heading, #entries h1.page-title, #entries h2.page-title, #portfolio .folio-box h3.folio-title, #portfolio .folio-box h3.folio-title a, #portfolio .folio-box h3.folio-title:active {
    font-family: “Oswald”, Arial, sans-serif;
    color: #000000;

#filters li a, #content a.button, #slidecaption h2, #related-folio .folio-box h3.folio-title, #related-folio .folio-box h3.folio-title a, #related-folio .folio-box h3.folio-title:active {
    font-family: “Oswald”, Arial, sans-serif;
    }

This line,put in my HTML web page is ignored and the color #00000 from the CSS file is used;

.h1{font:300 20px Oswald, Helvetica, Sans-serif;padding-bottom:10px;color:#38A6DC;
    }

I tried just taking the h1 out fo the CSS file and letting the page define it, but that did not work either. I tried creating another CSS file that loads after the master containing the line above, that did not work either

How can I fix this?

Beverleyh
    Participant

Looks like you’re mistakenly defining the h1 selector in your override CSS as a class: .h1

No dot needed – should just be h1

Cuttsy27
    Participant

To clarify – h1 is a default HTML element and can be targetted in CSS by just using h1 {}. You could then assign an ID or class to the h1 and use either # or . respectively to target the h1 element. To put this into perspective for the code you provided, your h1 element in your HTML would have to look like:

Hello World