Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS CSS Help – Images work in DW and previews but not live

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Hello all. I am a CSS newbie so apologies in advance. I found a cool template I was attempting to use instead of my old site, and I just ended up messing everything up. The thing is – it looks great in DreamWeaver, and in the DW previews, but when I dragged a page across my FTP as a test and uploaded the CSS, everything went downhill fast.

I can get images to display in DW and previews, but not on my site. I had this issue before with my old CSS not showing photos as well, but I can’t remember how it started working. I am grateful for any help and glad to share any snips of code you may need. My site is really a big mess right now from A – me not knowing what I am doing, and B – me uploading things even though it wasn’t ready.

A URL that can hopefully give some insight is http://www.danceswithwords.com/indexx.html (note the extra "x"). This is the page that looked great in DW but I didn’t replace my index because I was afraid. Now nothing looks right and I have no images.

Thanks in advance – I appreciate your time and any help!!
    Kate

pixlor

Hi,

For your logo, the source has

Code:
    Dances With Words, LLC

The "../" says to go up a level in the folder structure. Since the img folder is below the folder the page is in, you want to remove the "../"

In the CSS, there are quite a few references like

Code:
    background: url(img/img04.jpg) no-repeat;

but if I try to view those images, the links are broken. Use Dreamweaver’s remote view to make sure you uploaded the template’s graphics. (Or, just click on your img folder in Dreamweaver and then click on the upload arrow to upload all the graphics in that folder.)

Hi Pixlor,