Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS CSS Frameworks – The pros and cons

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    sBowers
    Participant

This may be opening pandoras box. Regardless I thought I would inquire with the community.

The question:
    What is currently the best implementation of a CSS framework for a large multifaceted business?

Some perspective:
    I work in the healthcare industry for a major provider. I have been tasked with the development and implementation of a mobile web strategy for public facing websites. We are also going through a homepage redesign so this gives me the opportunity to take a more holistic approach. Currently we have a mix of UI implementations using custom built css styles and dated framework implementations that cover a variety of consumer channels. The goal is to unify the approach to css implementation as much as possible.

The hurdles:
    My employer is typical of most large business. We use multiple teams with multiple development pathways for a multitude of end consumers. We have web development teams using Java based web services, Sharpoint teams for public and internal audiences etc. All of these projects which have separate and distinct requirements, look and feel and implementation methods. Currently there a multitude of overbuilt, overlapping styles resulting in lots of extra http requests. We also still support ie6 due to internal applications built to that browser (don’t get me started).

The requirements:
    1) Easily maintainable.
    2) Reactive, with multiple screen resolution adjustments for Desktop, Tablet, Touch Phones (some of our sites use CSS only approaches to mobile but most have separate sites)
    3) Progressive, with support back to the devil (ie6) and forward using HTML5.
    4) Solid, flexible styles with minimal selectors.