Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Creating Pages with Sidebars…

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    iamaw

This isn’t exactly a help or troubleshooting thread and it’s probably a very simple situation for most (especially the CSS gurus) but Im curious as to how you guys create your content and sidebar elements. We see these everywhere, typically on a blog… an element full of content and then a sidebar to the left or right of it with site navigation, search, etc…

I have two ways of creating these and Im not sure which way is most beneficial and/or semantic (Im still a CSS newb).
    So here are my two ways of doing it, which one do you use? Or please suggest and explain your own so everyone can see the various methods of creating these…

You might want to whip out notepad and try these out so dont have to picture how the code actually displays, and add some borders to the CSS to make everything clear and visible.

This is the most logical way I think, here is the HTML:

Code:

Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been the industry’s standard dummy text ever since the 1500s, when an unknown printer took a galley of type and scrambled it to make a type specimen book.

and here is the CSS:

Code:
    #contentContainer{
    width:800px;
    }

#contentContainerInside{
    margin:10px;
    }

#mainContent{
    width:580px;
    float:left;
    }

#sidebar{
    width:200px;
    float:right;
    }

.clear{
    clear:both;
    }

Simple enough right?

This one I found in use on another website… it seems a bit less logical, but it definitely works.

HTML:

Code:

Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been the industry’s standard dummy text ever since the 1500s, when an unknown printer took a galley of type and scrambled it to make a type specimen book.