Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Creating Designs without Photoshop

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Martin_Muzatko
    Participant

Hello dear community.

As a web developer I often find myself to translate PSD Designs to CSS/HTML.
    For creating some on my own, I do not have the abilities to create something in Photoshop format.
    I do not know any of that fancy stuff, instead I build my layouts and designs in CSS/HTML and end with a layout that I am not really able to finish. I have a plan of what to do, I do a few sketches, but I do not really think they could measure up to those fancy PSD works.

Recently I read an article on Stefano’s Linotype -> http://www.betaversion.org/~stefano/linotype/news/169/
    And I really ask myself if it is possible to create a decent design without any photoshop file full of layers etc.
    Of course I have some kind of direction where I wan’t to aim for.

How do you create your designs from scratch? Does it require to be a photoshop genius to do a decent design?
    Thank you for any answers and related articles.

notfilc

I prefer Fireworks but that’s not really the point here.

You can design right in the browser, I do it for personal stuff. For client stuff though, I think it’s best to send them a mockup first as the small things “put that over there, change that color” etc are much quicker to do in an image editing program than having to edit HTML and CSS.

Paulie_D

Photoshop will not help if you aren’t creative in that “fancy stuff”.

I assume by “Fancy stuff” you are talking about color palettes, gradients & such.

PS just enables a creative type to put their ideas together in a structured form.

There is no shame in not being creative in that way. It’s the difference between being a developer and being a designer.

Andy Howells
    Participant