Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Creating a border using CSS

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    gkp1987
    Participant

I really do not know anything at all about CSS. However, I have just started taking a free course to learn about it and HTML. I have been following the instructions and everything has been going fine until I tried to input a class using CSS and add a border – that’s where everything went wrong. There should be a border around ¨Here is some content for panel 1¨and ¨Here is some content for panel 2¨. It’s not showing up. Anyway, I have copied and pasted the code below for you to review the problem. Please do not use any complicated jargon as I am an absolute beginner!

http://codepen.io/gkp1987/pen/wgeKMd/

Beverleyh
    Participant

You’ll need to enclose multiple classes in straight quotes/apostrophes class="col-md-6 thin_border"

Codi
    Participant

looking at your html you have no quotes on your class

you have

class=col-md-6 thin_border

should be

class=”col-md-6 thin_border”

you need to add quotes to everything

you have no quotes in style sheet links classes or ids

anything with = needs to be in quotes.. example

id=”something”
    class=”something”
    href=”link” etc…

Shikkediel
    Participant

Actually, I learned today that unspaced attribute values can be left unquoted (thanks to B)…

Beverleyh
    Participant

anything with = needs to be in quotes.. example

id=”something”
    class=”something”
    href=”link” etc…