Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Code Critique

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    grindleydesigns
    Participant

Hello all. I just finished mocking up a page for a site that I’m working on. I just thought I would put it out there for anyone to take a look at my coding and let me know if I’m doing anything wrong or making any major mistakes. I’m still a newbie at web design/development so any critiques would be greatly appreciated. I wouldn’t want to continue making big mistakes or develop any bad habits this early on! Anyway, thanks for any feedback!

http://www.michaelgrindley.com/bff/index.html

TheDoc

http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=www.michaelgrindley.com/bff&charset=(detect+automatically)&doctype=Inline&group=0

There is no closing :

• Twitter

• Facebook

But I would do it differently anyways. The

itself can be coded just like the div, so I would do something like

Also, I see you’re using underscores, you’ll find that the majority of people (I think) are using dashes for HTML & CSS. So it would look like

. To me, that looks a lot cleaner. But it comes down to preference.

grindleydesigns
          Participant

Ahh, nice catch on the closing tag. (I seem to do that all the time! :) I always forget that you can apply an id directly to the ul tag instead of adding yet another div. Thanks for the input.

grindleydesigns
          Participant

Another, possibly silly question… I’m eventually going to need a dropdown menu from one of the navigation buttons. What is the easiest way to accomplish that? I’m having a heck of a time getting it to work properly. Any insight would be great. Thanks!

Sirlon

You can do it with CSS only by showing the child ul by hover.

ul ul { display:none;}
          ul li:hover > ul { display:block;}
          grindleydesigns
          Participant