Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Clipping on bottom of long content div

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    cdubks88

I’m pretty new to CSS, but I’ve done a little in the past with divs and haven’t come across this issue (though it sounds well-documented).

I’m sure it’s probably something simple, but I can’t seem to figure it out.

I’ve got a content wrapper div called main setup like this:

#main {
    z-index: 1;
    position: relative;
    top: 75px;
    width: 80%;
    min-height: 100%;
    margin-left: auto;
    margin-right: auto;
    padding: 5px;
    background-image: url(‘pixel.png’);
    background-repeat: repeat;
    box-shadow: 3px 4px 3px #FFF;
    }

There are three additional child divs placed to the upper left and left side of main (they align partially outside the parent div’s left).

I then have a child content div called boxcontent setup like this:

#boxcontent {
    margin-top: -10%;
    position: relative;
    padding-left: 150px;
    padding-right: 150px;
    }

It works fine with shorter content in the box (displays the normal bottom I expect to see with the shadow), but longer content gets clipped and doesn’t show all the content or shadow at the bottom.

What would cause it to clip the bottom?

Thanks in advance,

C.

Without seeing a reduced test case it is quite difficult to tell what is causing the issue.

AmruthPillai

Is this what happens in your case, cause I really don’t see any problem: http://codepen.io/anon/pen/bGDnh

cdubks88

I really appreciate the replies.

Here’s a sample of what I’m talking about.

http://codepen.io/anon/pen/zknEt

Thank you in advance,

C.

Paulie_D

To start with, I think the structure of the site is a little odd (at least to me) and I suspect that you have moved things about with margins and positioning etc to compensate.

You have a #wapper div that doesn’t wrap anything.