Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End checking if WordPress custom fields exists using php?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Liam

I’ve been following Chris’ excellent WordPress tutorial lessons on Lynda.com.
    So far I’ve learnt how to display any images I’ve entered as custom fields like this:

However I need to create a flexible template as I won’t always have the same number of images per page.

I’ve tried doing it with a php counter but I’m still learning php so I wasn’t really surprised that it didn’t work.
    Can anybody tell me why this isn’t working or if I’m even going about it the right way?

$i = 1;
    while($i < 5)
    {

if (file_exists(get_post_meta($post->ID, 'pic_"$i"', true)))
    {
    echo "";
    }
    $i++;
    }
    ?>

TheDoc

You’ll want to do something like this:

ID, 'pic', false); ?>

This post inspired by:

echo '';
      } ?>

Then you can use the same custom field name for each one.

Liam

Cheers Doc, that works even better than what I wanted! :)
    Out of interest is there any way to generate alt tags in a similar way or would I have to use a counter to define each one as unique to the relevant image it’s associated with?

TheDoc

That would be quite complicated, I’d imagine. Are you just trying to create a gallery? If that’s the case, using a plugin or WP’s built-in function would work a lot better.

Liam

I’m creating portfolio pages, I have an old version (liamjaydesigns.com/portfolio.php) which I built a while ago, but it needs updating (for both design and coding).

The portfolio page is split into three sections:
    • Web and Email Design,
    • Print Design
    • Branding and Identity