Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS changing full page background image in sub pages

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    polebu

Hi,
    I’m fairly new to html and css. I found the [perfect full page background image](https://css-tricks.com/perfect-full-page-background-image/ “perfect full page background image”) thread and I like it a lot and used it for a website.
    I would like to change the background image for some of the sub-sites. But I don’t know how to do that?
    Can I put the css code in to the html document, so that I can change it for every site? Is there a more elegant solution.
    I tried to use two css files, one only for the background, the other for the rest of the page, that didn’t work either.

Thanks for your help.

Paulie_D

There are a couple of ways to do this depending on how you are creating the pages.

The simplest is to give each page `` a separate ID (or class if you want) and the address them separately in your CSS sheet.

Say you just had two pages Home & Contact

You would add an ID to each like `` and `` then in your CSS sheet you can put

body#home {
    background-image: url(…123.jpg);
    }

body#contact {
    background-image: url(…XYZ.jpg);
    }

I think you get the idea.

polebu

Thanks.
    A follow up question. In the example the code is in the html section of the css and you put the img url in the body section. Is that ok, or does the complete code

background: url(images/bg.jpg) no-repeat center center fixed;
    -webkit-background-size: cover;
    -moz-background-size: cover;
    -o-background-size: cover;
    background-size: cover;

go into the body section?

Paulie_D

Neither.

The only HTML that is needed is to add the ID to the `body` tag as shown above.

This..

body#home {
    background-image: url(…123.jpg);
    }

body#contact {
    background-image: url(…XYZ.jpg);
    }