Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS [Solved] Changes to CSS not doing anything to site

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    tyson.jewell
    Participant

I’m very new to CSS, and was struggling. So a while back a great member here named Jerba helped me out a bit and made the code I was trying to make work, work. But I’m having an issue and no matter what I do to the CSS it’s not changing things. Like at all. Messing with padding and margins is effective but it seems like I’m locked out of everything else.

Pen: http://codepen.io/anon/pen/Ejvmmr

The layout here is wrong, I assume cause it’s just part of the CSS and html from the site, but that’s OK, that’s not the issue I’m having.

So they’re basically employee info cards for the website. Big container div with a picture, caption, and short paragraph inside.

Everything looks good on the actual live site when published but one, or actually apparently two, of the guy’s names is too long, putting their cards out of position. Also the lines are too close together.

I tried changing the size of h1 under .employee but there’s no change. I tried setting line-height to 120%, nothing.

Also I notice the text isn’t being transformed to uppercase, which is fine, but confusing since the instruction is there.

Annnnnd even if I change the px size of the img div within it, the picture always sizes to what the actual .jpg file’s dimensions are.

What’s going on? And thanks

Paulie_D

You had some closing braces } missing / out of place…also the single line comments //…don’t do that in CSS, use proper comment format.

After tidying all that up it was just a case of using vertical-align:top on the inline-block elements.

http://codepen.io/Paulie-D/pen/PqKmOW

tyson.jewell
    Participant

In my defense, I didn’t write those comments, haha.