Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums JavaScript Ceebox/Hash Change Function

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    attrition4u
    Participant

Hello all. Having some problems that I hope someone can help me with. I am a total noob. Realize it. Everything I know, I’ve learned as I went. So, please, be gentle.

I am putting together a site that has a dynamic haschange function but also relies heavily on Ceebox (the video popup script) and can’t seem to get the two to play nice. I’m sure it is something that I am doing wrong and, at this point, I am thinking that it probably has something to do with Jquery. If anyone could take a look at the code and tell me where I might be going wrong, I would appreciate it.

Right now, I have it up on a testing server at http://www.percealityproductions.com The only tab that is currently set for Ceebox function is the “new and updates” tab.

The Ceebox is currently working but the hashchange is not. If I take the ceebox scripts out, the haschange stuff is working. Any advice…?

Also, here is the raw code…

Perceality Productions | Home

attrition4u
    Participant

Nobody?

Chris Coyier
    Keymaster

#1 – Looks like you are loading jQuery twice. The first ceebox/ script is also jQuery. I’d remove that.

#2 – Note that the hashchange plugin only matters if you care about IE 6 support. I’m pretty sure IE 7 and all good browsers have it natively. Could be wrong on the IE 7 thing, but I’m not about good browsers.

attrition4u
    Participant

I knew that/tried that. Unfortunately, whenever I remove the first ceebox script, (i.e., script type=’text/javascript’ src=’ceebox/js/jquery.js’), the ceebox function ceases to work. The dynamic page refresh then works fine (the hashchange function) but the ceebox doesn’t work anymore.

attrition4u
    Participant