Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Can I still find a job in web design if I never had any kind of work?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    saddam_maliq
    Participant

Hi

In 2011 I finished my university degree where I learned programming. Since then I haven’t done any kind of work.

I have a disability which effects my speech and my walking. This fact has played a negative role on my confidence. When I left University I still didn’t feel that I had learned enough and wanted to take sometime to play with coding and get good enough so that on interviews my ability to code would hide my inability to communicate clearly (The criteria to communicate clearly was in every advertised job and that scared me to death – and it still does).

I didn’t plan to stay so long without looking for work, but I got used to the routine. A fact that I absolutely hate to admit but it’s true. Even though I am up to date with front-end development technologies, I still am just good enough for a junior position.

I am 27. I have read a lot of stories where people have changed careers and started learning programming in their 30s. But all of them have had enough work experience to talk about transferable skills (at least for employers to know that they are reliable); where as I have four years of nothingness – apart from the fact that I have kept learning.

I really hope you could give me some honest advice as to whether I haven’t totally ruined my chances of getting a job in this industry and how should I go about it- if it’s not too late. I am willing to work hard and for free (different people say I should, and different people say it would look bad, I’d look like a push over).