Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Building websites mobile first?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    tkmets5
    Participant

I am fairly new to designing and building websites and often hear building for mobile first is the way to go. I do understand the thought process of building mobile first and then adjusting with media queries to fit larger screens. However, for me it seems easier at my skill level to design and build full size and then adjust to fit smaller screens.

I was hoping to hear some thoughts and opinions on this. Is there a right or wrong?

Thanks!

Anonymous
    Inactive

What’s your target audience?

Also, what do you find easier about designing for desktop rather than mobile?

Alen
    Participant

There is no right or wrong way.

The whole idea behind Mobile First is to start thinking about optimizing for the mobile experience first. Since the market share is shifting towards mobile devices you want to take advantage of this growth and shift as the industry pivots. There is more and more emphasis on mobile. So why not make that priority. And this is not necessarily related to how you “design”. Your design might start off as “Desktop First” but the way you build it out can be “Mobile First”. Design is just Design.

Think more about content delivery. Usually what happens with “Desktop First” is you’ll get… scroll… scroll… scroll… scroll… scroll… scroll… because you’re trying to fit everything on a small screen.

Watch these…

Presentation (part 1)
    http://youtu.be/Y-FMTPsgy_Y

Presentation (part 2)
    http://youtu.be/nmKMz3Fg76M

Senff
    Participant

I was hoping to hear some thoughts and opinions on this. Is there a right or wrong?

No, there’s no right or wrong, although there are many theories and ways about doing it.