Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Browser testing

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    mortimer14

Hi I have developed a website that looks good in safari and firefox, I am starting browser testing now and obviously, it looks scary in other browsers. I am quite new to fixing bugs in different browsers and any help would be fantastic! I really could do with some guidance!

Thank you very much

Mortimer14

Paulie_D

If you can post a link I’m sure you will get some help. I’m no great expert but perhaps you should consider designing for the worst browser first (IE) and then enhance to more modern browsers rather than fixing ‘bugs’.

Consider a good ‘reset.css’, HTML5 and the associated shiv.

mortimer14

http://www.papersky.co/webproof/surfacebi/index.html

http://www.papersky.co/webproof/surfacebi/innerpage.html

http://www.papersky.co/webproof/surfacebi/innerpage2.html

Thank you paulie above are the url links! I work of a mac and i had been running the tests through safari and firefox and as of yet not got round to testing my worries is when i changed one thing it made other things break. As i said it is sort of my first time browser testing I think the other times I got more luck then judgement on getting them right. Also I am unsire where i can browser test properly.

Thank you for offering to help me :)

TheDoc

If you are serious about web development, you will need to find access to a Windows machine. This can be accomplished in a couple of ways:

1) Buy a really cheap Windows PC
    2) Install Windows onto your Mac via Bootcamp (either another drive or a partition on a drive)

Testing in all browsers is super important. Here’s a list of browsers you should always be checking:

Chrome
    Safari
    Firefox 4, 5
    Internet Explorer 7, 8, 9
    Opera