Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Browser Compatibility Issues with CSS

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    spencerw

When I test my files in Chrome and Safari, they work great, but when I test them in Firefox and Opera, it’s as if it doesn’t recognize my CSS file whatsoever. It makes it look like a plain HTML file would without any CSS. Any suggestions? I’m very new to web design so I’m sure it’s some dumb mistake that’s messing it all up but I would love your help.

rahul

10-common-css-browser-compatibility

When you write a CSS for your project you never know what kind of bug or issue you will face at time of browser compatibility.

Internet Explorer (IE) and Mozilla Firefox are the standard browsers which are globally considerable at time of browser compatiblity. Other browsers such as Chrome, Safari and Opera have a significant presence as well.

In today’s scenario browser bugs with CSS can be an incredible source of frustration for Web designers and developers. In this post I’m sharing some most common CSS browser compatibility Issues/Bugs. Here’s the following list:

1. How To Attack An Internet Explorer (Win) Display Bug

Great article, tutorial on how to figure out IE bugs, including making sure it isn’t a bug first, validating. Covers {position: relative;}, the peekaboo bug, dimensional bug fixing, the expanding box trick, the Holly hack, source code, and more. Easy to understand.

2. The IE/Win Disappearing List-Background Bug

It’s another IE bug caused by placing a list with a background set within a floated

that has been relatively positioned. Problem and solutions discussed here.

3.IE6 Duplicate Characters Bug