Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Best way to go about learning web design for reals

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    pugwatcher

Hey guys,

Sorry, I know this is a support forum but I figured this would be a good crowd to ask. Right now I work as a print design and while I do create web content and build the OCCASIONAL website (they are kinda lacking)-I feel like I’m lacking the proper foundation (I FEEL really disorganized and directionless when building a site) and technical knowledge to make a legit site.

It being 2011 and all, I’m feeling increasingly like if I don’t know web design properly I’m gonna have a pretty hard time getting a job with health insurance and a decent work environment in the design industry. Please correct me if you think I’m wrong…

If you think I’m right, how would you suggest going about learning webdesign the proper way. Go to school? Cut down work hours and read books and practice by building? Apprentice for a designer (ask friends who are designers to teach me)? I’m really weighing the pros and cons of going to school and I’m looking for expert opinions..

Thanks!!!

iMattR

There’s not really any way to truly learn how to design websites aside from looking at different methods that you like, and trying to replicate them in whatever software you use – personally, I use either Photoshop or Fireworks.

Honestly, just sit down sometime, take a look at some websites you like and try to re-do the design in photoshop – learn from the techniques you use, and then put everything into one design.

Also, when you’ve done your first design that you’re proud of, post it online to get constructive criticism and learn from any mistakes that you make. :D

mrtphotog
    Participant