Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS Best free web editing software for windows?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    tjgriffiths1
    Participant

Hi Y’all,

I’m a brand new coder, only been doing this for a couple of days. I was wondering what other web developers were using to write their pages? Anyone know of any reliable free web-editors? I am currently using notepad++ which i got from cnet.download.com, but was wondering if anyone else had a better suggestion?

Many thanks,

TJ

Anonymous
    Inactive

I too am interested. I use Notepad++ as well. I’ve heard of other free text editors like Bluefish and Komodo Edit, but I still haven’t found one I particularly like.

iancoates

I like conTEXT

tjgriffiths1
    Participant

I’ve just downloaded conTEXT. Bearing in mind i’ve only used it for a few minutes, I have to say it appears more usable than notepad++, It has some nice features, presented simply.

Thumbs up so far! Thanks Ian.

Keyamoon

Notepad++ is the best option for windows. I use it with a monokai theme and the consolas font.

nimaOL

I’ve tried more than 30 text editors on Win 7 so far, Sublime Text is a real fun to use, so flexible, not as pro as Notepad++ though…
    TopStyle 4 is awesome, just a super pro.
    Programmer’s Notepad is simple but powerful.
    Komodo IDE is also my fav.
    So I’ve got 4, that I prefer to use whenever I feel like…

Very personal impression here. I find Notepad++ just a bit … fussy, or maybe it’s overly complex. I prefer Komodo Edit. Just suits me better. I’ll have to check out Sublime Text … never heard of it until now. Thanks!

amelmgd
    Participant

hey i think the best is DW but you want a free one so check http://www.coffeecup.com/free-editor/
    it’s very good highly recommended
    good luck

nimaOL