Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End article preview that takes you to the actual article page.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

as i mentioned before i am new to PHP and MYSQL. This is a question that i cant seem to find the answer for on google(maybe because i don’t know how to ask it). So i’m going to ask my question as clear as i can.

I’m working on a blog and this blog has a page that shows the preview of the many posts and a “read more” button that takes them to the page were the full article is written. Thats something that i don’t know how to do dynamically. When i add a new post to my blog, how do i present the preview on the home page, and have the user click the “read more” button that takes them to the actual article? i want to do this automatically every time i post a new article.

PS. I know how to retrieve data from MYSQL so you can skip that. Maybe pointing me to the right tutorial can be helpful. Thank you.

Senff
    Participant

Depends what you use. Did you code that all from scratch yourself, or are you using a specific platform such as WordPress or something…?

Anonymous
    Inactive

I coded it myself using a few tutorials from youtube. Basically what i will be adding as the actual article to the database is this.

<!--content-->
                <div class="content_aligner">
                    <?php
                        $sql = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM articles ORDER BY id DESC");
                        while($row = mysql_fetch_array($sql)) {
                            $title = $row['title'];
                            $content = $row['content'];
                            $written_by = $row['written_by'];
                            $written_on = $row['written_on'];
                            $category = $row['category'];
                    ?>