Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums JavaScript AnythingSlider + fadeIn + Safari 5 issue

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    ivand

Good morning fellas.

I’ve integrated anything slider into a wordpress site ive been working on.

I used display:none; to hide the div containing the slider in order to avoid a FOUC. (yeah, i know is not an optimal solution)

and then used this

to show the div right after the window has loaded. the effect works on chrome + ffx + opera. but in Safari Mac and IE9 cant get it to work.

The url is http://tubolsillo.do (is a work in progress)

Thanks in advance!

Mottie

Hi Ivand!

That page has some serious issues… just from my quick look I found:

• Extreme page loading issues! I’m not an expert, but I don’t think it’s a good idea to add a twitter, google and facebook button to every post on the page – I counted 12 sets. If you do, then limit the number of posts showing. Please!
    • The same ID is used multiple times (e.g. #video-area & #player)… most browsers ignore all but the first, which is probably why your fadeIn doesn’t work.
    • The slider markup is borked… just from the view source I see
    • and

ivand

whoa. I knew i was letting some things slip by, but i didn’t realize it was so bad. this project has gone through a LOT of changes (something worthy of a clients from hell book i think) which has f***ed up my development process.

I checked and solved those issues but i still can’t get it to work on Safari. Weird.

About the social icons, is something the client wont give up about. So i was thinking to maybe implement some kind of lazy loading, to hide the ones that are not in the viewport at load time

ivand

Also, is there anyway to hide completely the start/stop button and maintain slideshow functionality?

Mottie