Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Another Hosting Question

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Steven Morgan
    Participant

I’m hearing a lot of hosting talk lately with GoDaddy buying Media Temple. I’m no expert on this stuff but I am looking for some insight.

I run a small web development company and we are looking to move to a new hosting provider. I currently have a crappy resller package with a shared server. Uptime isn’t great, and I’m always keeping an eye on sites through cPanel to make sure nobody goes over their disk space/bandwidth limits.

I used to work for a company that used Rackspace and this new cloud server technology. I’ve looked at Digital Ocean and a few others and I’m not exactly sure.

Most of our sites are smaller business sites with not much traffic, however some are large blogs that handle a couple thousand people a day and eat up bandwidth. Is there a host that has a reseller plan perfect for both of these? Or should I have a shared hosting account that handles small sites and get a Dedicated IP for the large sites?

That may not make any sense, like I said I don’t fully understand it all.

Current sites: 25. We could have up to a few hundred over time.

chrisburton
    Participant

What’s your budget?

Steven Morgan
    Participant

I’d like to keep it under $50 per month. Though I can be flexibly. I’ll pay for what I have to have. Obviously something around $20 would be awesome, but I’m aware that may not be do-able

Steven Morgan
    Participant

I’ve also heard of using a CDN like amazon or cloudflare. Does that just help with keeping bandwidth limits down? Is that a good idea on every site? Just big sites like blogs with a lot of images? How is that any different than a web host?

Alen
    Participant