Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Android – what would you choose?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    jimmy
    Participant

Hi,

I currently use Motorola Milestone (or Droid in USA, the original one), I’ve been using it for 4 years and because of heavy overclocking and usage it gets slower and slower, not to mention lack of ICS/JB (I won’t even bother, 550Mhz, dude).

What do you recommend?

• I live in Europe, so I couldn’t care less about LTE.
    • 16GB internal memory is ok, if I can extend it (Nexus 4, sorry ;s)
    • long battery life is a must I guess

Basically I restricted my options to Galaxy SIII, Nexus 4 (yeah, I know what I said before, but, but…) and HTC One X+.

I ask you because it will mainly serve as an Internet browser, music player and generally my mini-workstation when away from my PC. **iPhone is off the table.** Too expensive and less useful if I don’t own a Mac.

What do you own, what do you like about it and what would you advise? HTC is sturdy, Galaxy is plastic, LG/Google Nexus 4 is glass… HTC is older architecture though and has less RAM, but having Tegra and whopping storage… Galaxy has old Cortex, opposed to S4 Pro in Nexus and less RAM, but has SD, replaceable battery and feels less dangerous if dropped. Nexus is technologically most advanced, has 2GB of RAM, best screen, but it’s made of glass, has limited user space, but it’s also the cheapest. There is no clear winner and I’m really looking forward for something which I will be keeping for at least 3 years.

What’s your opinion, what would you do?

jimmy
    Participant

And friggin’ expensive :D but hey, thanks for the opinion! I heard a lot about it as well, but the price scares me off, same with S4.

TheDoc