Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS [Solved] Anchor and image inside of div

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    mateod747
    Participant

This is the example I just made. I’m new in HTML and CSS and I’m learning already 3-4 days. http://codepen.io/mateod747/pen/eNMYOR

My question is: I applied border-radius to my anchor link but it doesn’t work in firefox and I don’t know why. Also if someone can tell if all of these effects I made in CSS can be made easier and shorter and how, thank you.

Paulie_D

You don’t have the non-prefixed version of border-radius listed (and it should come after the prefixed versions).

FF (and most up-to-date browsers) no longer require the prefix and so ignore the prefixed ones.

-webkit-border-radius: 50px;
      -moz-border-radius: 50px;
      -o-border-radius: 50px;
      border-radius:50px;

http://codepen.io/Paulie-D/pen/OVvPEQ

Paulie_D

As for tidying that’s really a matter of choice.

Firstly, many consider it good practice not to use IDs quite so liberally.

They are fine if you know you won’t be re-using the ID again on the same page (say your but more often than not you will find it more flexible to use a class instead.

Case in point…your #wrap ID…if you wanted to have another wrap you’d need another ID, make it a class and it’s re-usable.

On the positioning side, where you are trying to position many things over an element, it makes sense to wrap those items up into a single container and position that.

Below I added a single .detail div and centered that which means I could eliminate the positioning from the link and div inside it. Also, my version will always center over the image regardless of the size of the image.

http://codepen.io/Paulie-D/pen/mJxyjM?editors=110

For a couple of days you’ve done great…there’s a ton more to learn but it seems to me you’re on the right track.