Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other a wonderful story of trickery

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    shamai

so I have a sly relative who is a business man who will jump on any opportunity he can.
    He discovered that I can make him a website for free!
    Especially cause I’m just starting out and I have barely finished my own website.
    It takes me like 4 weeks just to make one.

So I began making one. He then had the audacity to tell me it must be done by the end of the week for his meeting!
    I ignored that and moved at my own pace but he was very annoying and cajoled me to work faster, telling me this is how it is in the real world and I need to crank out 10 of them a month….

I have not finished his website, but he came to me last week and said he has found someone who is willing to pay me for a website.
    It sounded great but i felt i was just not ready yet to make paying sites.
    He didn’t care. he told me the next day that he spoke with this client and I was to make another website in 4 weeks. Obviously I yelled at him, but i felt bad and didn’t want him to look like an idiot because he already said I would do it. and i don’t want to cause problems in the family.
    (i think he knows i feel bad and is using me completely)

to make matters worse, I said I needed info from the client and he was very sly with the information. Basically I realized he is making money off of it and is acting like a middle man. And he plans on hosting the website and making a monthly fee. how lovely of him.

so what do you do when a relative is taking advantage of you before your career can even launch?

Senff
    Participant

Avoid him.

JoshWhite

I am sorry to say your relative is a fool. Unfortunately you were also fool to let him abuse the relationship as far as he did. Luckily you have some great people here to give you advice :)