Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums CSS 100% width footer with image attached to top – HELP!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    plaedien
    Participant

Hi all.

Im fairly new to hand coding in css/xhtml (read: Noob) and im really struggling with getting my footer to work correctly.

Basically want i want to do, is have a 100% width footer in blue with an repeating image attached to the top of the footer. Simple right?

Here is what i am trying to acheive with the footer:

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/7/pdwebsitelayout.png/

Ive hunted around and found what i though would work (using clear: both, etc) but no matter what i try, at the very most, all i get is the main blue area of the footer showing – i cant get the ‘grass’ image to show at all, let alone sit on top of the footer area.

The footer does have content in it (block lists) but ive collapsed it all to make it easy to read:

and the relevant CSS :

#container {
    margin: auto;
    width: 900px;
    }

#footer {
    background: url(“images/grass-footer.png”) repeat-x scroll 0 0 #00539B;
    height: auto;
    width: 100%;
    position: absolute;
    margin: 30px 0 0 0;
    left: 0;
    }

#footer .content {

height: 160px;
    margin: 0 auto;
    position: relative;
    width: 900px;
    }

#footer .footercontent {
    color: #ffffff;
    font: ‘helvetica’, ‘arial’;
    font-size: 10pt;
    width:900px;

}

_______

Any ideas? this is driving me n00b brain crazy!

Thanks

noahgelman
    Participant

It’s hard to tell what’s going on without the html. It’s much easier to diagnose the problem if you have a link to the website

plaedien
    Participant

mmm thats weird because i did paste it into the post…unfortunately web goblins have killed our server at the moment so there is
    nothing online.