Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Other Your learning process?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    theplastickid
    Participant

Hello, I am kinda new to the whole word of web design, I used to design in html and photoshop very poorly when I was younger and then kinda gave up for a couple of years. I have returned to it though discovering CSS and the wonders of what it can do.

However I can clearly see the world of web development is a lot greater than just CSS and html. I still have not got to grips fully with CSS and until I do I have no intentions of diving into other languages. But I was just wondering for the other more experienced developers out there what was your learning process? Eg. CSS then you went on to learn PHP, jQuery etc etc. Also what would you suggest is the best route to go down for a newbie like me.

Appreciate any feedback,
    Thanks. ;)

— learn the basics of HTML/CSS first
    — Once you have HTML/CSS down, learn some javascript/javascript framework like jQuery
    — finally, the basics some PHP or another server-side programming language

Of course, that is only the coding side of things… It is also helpful to know a bit of Photoshop or another graphics editing program, so you can create the images that your websites will use. Depending on the kind of sites you work on, knowing a bit of Flash can be useful too.

theplastickid
    Participant

Thank appreciate the feedback. I am VERY efficient in PS, been using since before I can remember. I am not good at drawing and am not a good artist so for me Illustrator I just leave well alone.

I’ve read a couple of book on CSS / Xhtml. Css from novice to professional and CSS Mastery. I have an ok understanding of it, and have coded a couple of sites not without problems though.