Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End WP: Efficiency & filtering categories

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    yeoman

Hello all,

Firstly, I feel I should mention that this may be the wrong forum to be asking my question(s)–my inquiry is fairly complicated–but since Chris’ screencasts have been so incredibly helpful for me throughout the pasts few months, I figured I’d run it by his forum members and possibly Chris himself.

Quickly:
    I’m a radio producer currently setting up a WordPress site for my host. His current site (which I built in RapidWeaver) is simply too hard to maintain due to the large amount of content that needs updating throughout the week. RapidWeaver is a lovely platform for static sites, and, frankly, with its built in FTP client, has worked well as a pseudo-CMS. The problem, though, is that I’m the only person able to update the site, which is a huge hassle when dealing with a news junkie like my host.

Quicklier:
    If you checked the site, you can see that there are basically three main divs within the content area on the front page. The top div is used for daily content (topics of the day etc.), the middle for advertising, and the bottom for weekly content (poll, video, etc). I have already recreated much of the site locally in WP using rather extreme HTML and CSS modifications to Justin Tadlock’s Hybrid News theme, a child theme of the Hybrid framework.

The Meat:
    From what I know of WP and PHP, the following is the most efficient way to manage the content on the front page (please, if you have the time and know-how, inform me if/where I am wrong):

• The ‘Home’ will use a page-template containing all of the content that needs only weekly updates (poll, video, etc). Therefore, those updates can be performed via custom fields and/or widgets only once a week.
      [/*:m]