Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End WordPress: Multiple loops or 1 loop with multiple display options?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    evilplan

Hi everyone

I’ll start by saying, this site is such an inspiration for me: An amateur developer who is hoping to learn the skills to start sharpening people’s websites.

I’m trying to construct a custom front page for a blog. I’m new to this, but fairly confident. What I’d like is for you to guide me in how best to use the WordPress loop to accomplish the following:

All the items detailed below come from the whole posts database – at this stage, I don’t want to filter by category or date. Each section simply shows the next post(s). My question entirely relates to the front page.

The front page will have the latest article, with a custom excerpt (I’ve written the function – it shows around 250 characters and doesn’t strip out the important HTML tags, so it’s more sophisticated than the_excerpt()).

Underneath that is a 2-column setup – it displays the next two latest posts, one on the left and one on the right. This has a standard excerpt, with excerpt_length filtered in to give us 100 characters. The CSS works fine – around 46% left and right, and a custom function to display a small category-related thumbnail.

Under this is a 3-column setup, again displaying the next 3 posts, but obviously smaller. And there’s barely any excerpt, but all the tags, comment count, etc.

Then under this is another 2-column setup, with each column containing 4 post titles and tag details only.