Forums

The forums ran from 2008-2020 and are now closed and viewable here as an archive.

Home Forums Back End WordPress Custom Fields from Sub-Page to Parent Page

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    slgworks

Hello Everyone,

I am new to wordpress theme design and php, so please excuse me if this is rudimentary.
    I am trying to setup a wordpress site that has a video archive page similar to the one on CSS-Tricks.
    I have individual video pages created as a sub-page of the video archive page.
    On the video archive page I have the individual video pages linked to dynamically using..

Code:
    ID.’&echo=0′);
    if ($children) { ?>

Also on the individual video pages, I have a custom field setup called "thumb" that I place the URL of the post thumbnail in.
    I would like to access the custom field info from the parent video page and have the image display in the list item of the dynamically generated links.

In other words I would like to dynamically load all the images from the sub-page custom field on parent page.

I hope that this makes sense.

Any help is much appreciated.

AshtonSanders
    Participant

Hi,

As far as I know, you can only echo the meta data from inside "the_loop"

This page has more info about Meta Data http://codex.wordpress.org/Using_Custom_Fields

Chris Coyier
    Keymaster

Yeah that sounds about right. Perhaps you should do a well-executed query_posts() to get those child pages, so then you are inside the loop and have access to the page titles AND can grab that image that is a custom field.

If you only need a flat list of posts under the current page then simply using query_posts with a loop would be your best option. The only problem is if you have hierarchical pages, which would require nested lists, as that is a little more complicated to acheive and it is this that most of the magic inside wp_list_pages is dedicated to.